Nexus Repository Auto Python file

Hey guys, I have a question about an automated python file to perform execution to download dependencies in nexus and send it back to the physical computer, how do i do that?

This is about the bare minimum to get you started. You’ll need error handling and other things, and I’m sure there are more elegant/pythonic ways of writing this code (I’m not really a developer, I just like to automate parts of my job). Hopefully it’s helpful.

#!/usr/bin/env python3
import json
import urllib.request

# change baseurl and downloadRepository to your NXRM server and pypi repo
baseurl = 'http://nxrm.myorg.com:8080/service/rest/v1/'
downloadRepository = 'pypi-proxy'
url = baseurl + 'components?repository=' + downloadRepository

go = 1
while go
    response = urllib.request.urlopen(url)
    data = json.load(response)
    for item in data["items"]:
        for asset in item["assets"]:
            fileurl = asset["downloadUrl"]
            filename = downloadPath + fileurl.split('/')[-1] # '\' for Windows
            outfile = open(filename, "w")
            outfile.write(str(urllib.request.urlopen(fileurl).read()))
            outfile.close()
    if data["continuationToken"] is None:
        break
    else:
        # construct pagination url and loop
        url = baseurl + 'components?continuationToken=' + data["continuationToken"] + '&repository=' + downloadRepository
1 Like

Sorry for the late reply, could you explain what does these lines of code do? For loop of asset , items and the last line. Appreciate the help!

Hello,

The nexus server returns the data from the REST query in JSON format as a dictionary. You can see it if you do

print data

after this line

You’ll see items is the key with all of the python packages as values. Inside items, you’ll see an assets key. One of the values in assets is the download URL for the package. This python program downloads the packages using those URLs.