Nexus3 Availability During OrientDB Backup

Hello Community!

I’m relatively new to Nexus and I want to understand this tip from the documentation:

Write access to databases is temporarily suspended until a backup is complete. It’s advised to schedule backup tasks during off-hours.

(Prepare a Backup)

Does the above comment mean that users will get an error when trying to use the Nexus during the backup? Can users read artifacts during the backup? Can they publish / write content during the backup?

Our OrientDB database is 1.2GB (with an 8TB blob store). It took 19s to backup those 1.2GB using the Backup Task. This created a file of 100-200MB. I tried to write to the Nexus - using a test upload - at the same time as the backup, but I missed the window because the backup was so fast!

The above Nexus is a production instance of OSS, where I ideally need to build a DEV instance to peform backup and restore testing … and further my understanding.

Hoping you can help.
Kind Regards,
Edd

Hi Edd, Welcome to the Sonatype Community!

While the Task is running that exports database for backup, Nexus Repository Manager will be in a read only state. Users/processes will not be allowed to upload new artifacts.

Tip: remember to take a regular back up copy of the database exported files and all of the Sonatype-work directory for disaster recovery purposes.

Cheers!

Thank you Jerry!

Yes, we’re backing up that directory with an EBS snpshot in AWS. I’ve set the Backup Task to run just before the EBS [file-system] snapshot, so that the OrientDB backup output and the blob storage all get captured in the same backup.

I have one related question where maybe the Community may be able to help …