"Server Disconnected: There is a problem communicating with the server:

Hi Everyone,

I’m attempting to use Nexus as a proxy to cache Chocolatey packages for my organization. I’ve installed Nexus on a Intel NUC running W10 Pro. Unfortunately, when I load the GUI in the web-browser I’m informed that the server cannot be contacted, the server is disconnected, unable to detect which node you are connected to, etc. I’m a total noob at Nexus, so am unsure what to do. I’ve checked that the Nexus service is running, which it is (I’ve tried restart the service, but that didn’t work either).

Any ideas on how I might resolve this issue?

Thanks!

Is the NXRM instance local to your machine or are you connecting remotely?
If the latter, consider any firewall settings in between you as well as anti-virus programs on your local machine.
You might also check the nexus.log on the server to see if there are errors. If there arn’t, that also points to a connectivity issue between the two.
You could also in that event try connecting from the server machine.
Hope that helps!
-Joe

1 Like

@jtom Thanks! I will check. I was attempting to install Nexus originally on a NUC that I would access remotely. However, I was sitting at the NUC itself and not accessing it remotely, so it would therefore have been a local machine at the time.

What’s weird is that I installed an Ubuntu Server VM via Hyper-V and setup Nexus on it and it works just fine (it’s also on my NUC).

I would like to get it up and running on my W10 install just because when something doesn’t work I have to know why haha.